2018 USA Games Team Announced!

USA Games 2018

The 2018 Special Olympics USA Games are just over six months away and Team Massachusetts is ready to go! Over the past year, Special Olympics Massachusetts has hosted qualifying competitions, reviewed applications, and made selections. Now, we can officially give you the entire Team Massachusetts Delegation heading to Seattle!

On August 9, 2017 at the Bank of America Financial Center at 100 Federal Street In Boston, Special Olympics Massachusetts revealed the first 30 athletes who would be traveling to the 2018 Special Olympics USA Games in Seattle, WA. Special Olympics athletes, Tyler Lagasse and Joe Morrill officially announced their teammates after welcoming and encouraging words from Miceal Chamberlain, Bank of America Massachusetts President. Special Olympics Massachusetts VP of Sports, Matt Ruxton outlined the selection criteria and President & CEO, Mary Beth McMahon offered words of encouragement to the team. If you missed the live feed hosted on Facebook, please watch the announcement here:

On Sunday November 11, 2017, the final two teams were announced at a small presentation outside of Gillette Stadium. The Soccer team was announced by New England Revolution midfielder, Scott Caldwell while the flag football team was revealed by New England Patriots Alum Ilia Jarostchuk. Kelly Fredrickson of Bank of America was on hand to celebrate the announcement and hand out USA Games t-shirts to the selected teams. The Patriots handed out hats and the Revolution gave the soccer team scarves to honor the respective teams’ accomplishments.

Watch as the Haverhill Angels learn they will represent Massachusetts at Special Olympics USA Games in 2018:


Meet Team Massachusetts

Individual Sports

10 pin bowling

  • Paul Carey from Millbury
  • Brandon Moore from North Attleboro
  • Laurene Rice from Worcester
  • Angela Swett from Worcester
  • Coached by Eric Mahoney from Auburn


  • Samantha Berndt from Rutland
  • Samantha Vayo from Worcester
  • Coached by Margaret Szluga from Northborough


  • Tyler Lagasse from Tyngsboro
  • Coached by George Kent from Hopkinton


  • Joe Morrill from Holliston
  • Coached by Nick DiAntonio from Milford


  • Timothy Canty from Auburn, MA
  • Meghan Colby from Gloucester
  • David Kriensky from West Bridgewater
  • Rebecca Zimmerman from Stoughton
  • Coached by Ann Marie Dawes from Douglas

Track & field

  • Joshua Brennan from Salisbury, CT competes with the Berkshire Red Raiders
  • Jay Brown from Milford
  • Chris Charest from Worcester
  • Kelsey Gaffney from Milford
  • Alyssa Neil from Holyoke
  • Greg Schwartz from Medfield
  • Abby Tetrault from Hyannis
  • Rachel Wheeler from Springfield
  • Coached by Christin Santiago-Calling from West Bridgewater and Tim Walsh from Milford

 Team Sports

Basketball (traditional)

  • Shrewsbury Pioneers Coached by William O’Brien

Flag Football (Unified)

  • Haverhill Stars Angels

Soccer (Traditional)

  • Milford Fire Hawks

Team Massachusetts Alternates

10 Pin Bowling

  • Mary Kate Amentea
  • Joel Goodrow
  • Heather St. Germain
  • Mark Pecor


  • Wareham Wild Vikings

Flag Football

  • Milford Patriots


  • Haynes, Jeremy


  • Greater Springfield Lightning


  • Lindsay Blagg
  • Jennifer Harrington
  • William Holbrook
  • John (JP) Young


  • Alex Cohen
  • Kaitlyn Critchley
  • Meghan Pelletier

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *